Friday, March 16, 2012



BLACK MAYONNAISE - "When You Get Caught Between The Moon And Boston Harbor:
The Best That Black Mayonnaise Could Do 1991-2008"

"When You Get Caught Between The Moon And Boston Harbor:
The Best That Black Mayonnaise Could Do 1991-2008"

Get digital version HERE:

Get the physical version w/ a ton of extras HERE:

"Black Mayonnaise officially came into existence on August 6, 1991 out of nowhere, crudely inspired by old Godflesh, old Carcass, old Butthole Surfers, old Chapeau, and Big Black. "Stuff that frogs would like" was recorded on that day in a very sloppy/spontaneous manner, and "Off-shore sludge" was recorded the following day under identical circumstances. These earliest recordings have been described as "garage Godflesh" and "like Happy Flowers with a drum machine". The gestalt-like change into the "space sludge" sound that occurred in 1992 was the result of purchasing a 4-track, as the previous tapes were recorded with merely a boombox. During the mid-90's this project seemed to mysteriously transmute into somewhat of a living entity with a will of its own, independent of its creator and coming/going as it pleased. This factor would be a partial reason for the random disappearances/resurgances over the years. The somewhat obscure slang-term for decomposing sewage/sediment seemed appropriate for the early sound. This obscurity led to widespread discrimination by the more serious grim-faced metalhead/hipster-noise mamas-boy types living at home earning money off ebay/allowances and enough spare time to post 65498 [this is oftentimes a low estimate] times a day on numerous message boards... as it was misinterpreted by many as "some lame white-trash noisecore band named after expired food". Though by no means has this project ever been one to take itself too seriously. The other crowd of discriminators possess a much higher level of integrity. These are the individuals who have listened to the project and have empirically reduced it to simplistic weird sounds created by an overactive imagination and not "music" at all; more or less”

My original intention was to write some sort of tribute to Hunter S. Thompson's intro to The Great Shark Hunt and talk about how I'd like to jump out a window after completing this... and then I'd attempt to be funny by saying that if I did I'd just wind up landing in some cold wet leaves and I'd have to walk back inside all damp and clammy. But I won't, even though I kind of already did. What you have here is a collection of Black Mayonnaise tracks attempting to briefly cover every phase of existence going back over the past 20 years. I made sure to include some unreleased material... Gems? No. Just unreleased stuff... but I stuck to my original philosophy and only used tracks that I like to listen to personally. Yep, August 6th, 2011 was the official 20 year anniversary since this all began. I think that most people probably knew I'd never grow up, even during those years when I was quite absent. Thanks to Jay and Placenta for doing this and helping get some of this old bullshit back out into circulation. And thanks to everyone else who has joined me on this ride.

~Still going, Mike Duncan (Black Mayonnaise)

1. Untitled (2000)
2. Human Cannonball (1991)
3. Asphyxiated Shellfish (1991)
4. Oatmeal For Dinner (1992)
5. Stagnant Pond II (1993)
6. Temporal Transcension (1993)
7. Then I Kissed Her (1994)
8. Untitled (1994)
9. Untitled (1996?)
10. Untitled (1998)
11. Untitled (1994)
12. Contamination Diet vs. Black Sabbath
13. Incessant Meteoric Bombardment (2000)
14. Floating Body II remix (2008)
15. Untitled (2004)
16. Chemtrails [rough draft] (2007)
17. Hercynia (ortuO) (2003)
18. VLF recording (2003)
19. Huey Lewis (2003)

All tracks produced by Mike Duncan, 1991-2008

Artwork + Original Release + Concept by Jay Watson / Placenta Recordings

No comments:

Post a Comment